IW ImportWindow

Build date proof › Mitsubishi

How to prove a Mitsubishi's build date

This is the workhorse document of every JDM import, and it does NOT state a build date. Two widely-read broker guides claim it gives a date of manufacture or a build date. Both are wrong.

There is no straightforward answer for Mitsubishi

It records shodo toroku nengetsu - the month and year of FIRST REGISTRATION. There is no date-of-manufacture field, because the shaken-sho it is derived from has no such field either.

Routes, best first

The manufacturer's own date-of-manufacture label

Build date

The single best evidence there is, and it is free. Look for it before you pay anyone anything.

issuer
The original manufacturer, at the factory
cost
Free
time
Immediate
you supply
Nothing but a torch and a phone camera.

States when the car was built. This is the date every import rule is measured from.

Limits and gaps

A JDM-market car normally has no date-bearing label at all. Its caution plate carries model code, chassis number, engine model and paint and trim codes - and no date.

NHTSA puts this first: the 25-year period runs from the date of manufacture, and the agency looks for that date on a label permanently affixed to the vehicle by its original manufacturer. Everything else on this site exists because that label is missing. Photograph the driver's door aperture, the passenger door aperture, the engine bay bulkhead and the centre pillars before you conclude there isn't one.

Checked against the issuer's own page  issuer page  · full detail

Production period read off a government recall notice

Build date

Japanese recall notices pair exact chassis-number blocks with exact production periods. If your chassis number falls inside a block, your car was built inside that window. It brackets; it does not pin.

issuer
MLIT recall database, and manufacturers' own recall pages
cost
Free
time
An hour of your own time
you supply
The chassis number and the model code.

States when the car was built. This is the date every import rule is measured from.

Limits and gaps

MLIT cannot be searched by chassis number; you search by model and read the ranges yourself. Manufacturers' own tools take a chassis number but return only a yes or no, not the production window - you need both. A model with no recalls gives you nothing.

The real technique is to find every recall your chassis number falls inside and intersect the production periods. Two or three overlapping recalls can narrow an eighteen-month window to a couple of months. It is an inference, not a certificate, and no authority formally accepts it - but it is free, it is government-published, and you can show your working.

Checked against the issuer's own page  issuer page  · full detail

Export Certificate (yushutsu massho kari-toroku shomeisho, or yushutsu yotei todokede shomeisho)

No date of manufacture

This is the workhorse document of every JDM import, and it does NOT state a build date. Two widely-read broker guides claim it gives a date of manufacture or a build date. Both are wrong.

issuer
District Transport Bureau (MLIT). Kei cars: Light Motor Vehicle Inspection Organization.
cost
JPY 350 in revenue stamps; JPY 500 for a kei car. An English translation costs about JPY 5,000-10,000 and is not official.
time
Issued at the counter. Obtainable up to six months before the scheduled export date.
you supply
Handled by your exporter as part of deregistration.

Carries no date of manufacture. Useful for other things; useless for proving a car's age.

Limits and gaps

It records shodo toroku nengetsu - the month and year of FIRST REGISTRATION. There is no date-of-manufacture field, because the shaken-sho it is derived from has no such field either.

What it does give is a first-registration date on an official government document, and that satisfies NHTSA's second tier: a registration document showing the vehicle was registered at least 25 years ago. First registration is always at or after manufacture, so it can only ever make a car look younger than it is - which is why NHTSA accepts it, and why it cannot rescue a borderline car. Australia names the Japanese de-registration certificate explicitly as acceptable evidence. No CBP regulation requires an English translation, but every customs broker treats one as mandatory in practice.

Checked against the issuer's own page  issuer page  · full detail

No formal build-date service

No date of manufacture

For these six manufacturers there is no route. Ask your dealer anyway, but plan as though the answer is no - because it is.

issuer
-
cost
-
time
-
you supply
-

Carries no date of manufacture. Useful for other things; useless for proving a car's age.

Limits and gaps

Toyota's public grade search takes a chassis number for 1999-on cars and returns the grade, not a date, and disclaims all liability. Toyota GR Heritage is parts reproduction. Honda Heritage Works launches in April 2026 for the first-generation NSX and says nothing about chassis lookups or certificates. Suzuki has refused such a request on the record.

One exception worth trying: a Mazda dealer employee has publicly stated that dealer systems hold build data for all Mazda vehicles up to around 2004 and offered to look them up. That is one person's informal offer, not a Mazda programme, but it establishes that the data exists inside the dealer network. It costs nothing to ask.

Checked against the issuer's own page  issuer page  · full detail

Toroku jiko-to shomeisho (Certificate of Registered Matters), detailed version

No date of manufacture

An official MLIT statement of the first registration date and the full registration history from new, independent of the export certificate. The cheapest insurance in the whole process, and almost nobody buys it.

issuer
District Transport Bureau (MLIT)
cost
JPY 1,200
time
Same day, at the counter
you supply
The plate number, the last seven digits of the chassis number, and identity documents. Have your exporter or a gyoseishoshi do it.

Carries no date of manufacture. Useful for other things; useless for proving a car's age.

Limits and gaps

Like every Japanese vehicle document, it carries first registration, not manufacture.

Order it before your exporter deregisters the car. If a US entry officer questions the export certificate, a second government document saying the same thing settles it for JPY 1,200.

Partly confirmed - read the caveats  issuer page  · full detail

Japanese auction sheet (USS, TAA, JAA, JU, CAA)

No date of manufacture

Proves nothing about age. A private trading document, trivially forged, accepted by no import authority anywhere.

issuer
The auction house
cost
Supplied with the lot
time
-
you supply
-

Carries no date of manufacture. Useful for other things; useless for proving a car's age.

Limits and gaps

The year field is the first registration date in Japan. The auction house transcribes the sheet from the shaken-sho, which has no build date - so the sheet cannot contain one.

At least one popular guide claims the sheet shows the actual production month and year. It does not. Use the sheet for condition and history - that is what it is for and it is very good at it.

Checked against the issuer's own page  issuer page  · full detail

JEVIC / JAAI / QISJ pre-export inspection certificate

No date of manufacture

Proves nothing about age. Not accepted as age evidence by the United States, Canada or Australia.

issuer
JEVIC and other appointed inspection bodies
cost
Varies by destination
time
Days
you supply
-

Carries no date of manufacture. Useful for other things; useless for proving a car's age.

Limits and gaps

JEVIC's appointments from NZTA, MPI, DAFF, MAFF, USDA and CFIA are for roadworthiness, odometer verification and biosecurity - not age.

Necessary for New Zealand and Australian quarantine. Irrelevant to the 25-year clock.

Checked against the issuer's own page  issuer page  · full detail

Mitsubishi vehicles in the catalogue

The Build Date Proof Pack

This page tells you which document to order. The pack gets it ordered — and tells you what to do when the answer is that no document exists.

  • A ready-to-send request for every archive, in the language it wants
  • Exactly which numbers to photograph, and where they are on the car
  • What to ask the seller for before you pay the deposit
  • The fallback ladder when the manufacturer has no records
  • What US, Canadian and Australian officials each accept as proof
$19 See what's in it

Not on sale yet — see the full contents first.