Build date proof › Honda
How to prove a Honda's build date
This is the workhorse document of every JDM import, and it does NOT state a build date. Two widely-read broker guides claim it gives a date of manufacture or a build date. Both are wrong.
There is no straightforward answer for Honda
It records shodo toroku nengetsu - the month and year of FIRST REGISTRATION. There is no date-of-manufacture field, because the shaken-sho it is derived from has no such field either.
Routes, best first
The manufacturer's own date-of-manufacture label
Build dateThe single best evidence there is, and it is free. Look for it before you pay anyone anything.
- issuer
- The original manufacturer, at the factory
- cost
- Free
- time
- Immediate
- you supply
- Nothing but a torch and a phone camera.
States when the car was built. This is the date every import rule is measured from.
Limits and gaps
A JDM-market car normally has no date-bearing label at all. Its caution plate carries model code, chassis number, engine model and paint and trim codes - and no date.
NHTSA puts this first: the 25-year period runs from the date of manufacture, and the agency looks for that date on a label permanently affixed to the vehicle by its original manufacturer. Everything else on this site exists because that label is missing. Photograph the driver's door aperture, the passenger door aperture, the engine bay bulkhead and the centre pillars before you conclude there isn't one.
Checked against the issuer's own page issuer page · full detail
Production period read off a government recall notice
Build dateJapanese recall notices pair exact chassis-number blocks with exact production periods. If your chassis number falls inside a block, your car was built inside that window. It brackets; it does not pin.
- issuer
- MLIT recall database, and manufacturers' own recall pages
- cost
- Free
- time
- An hour of your own time
- you supply
- The chassis number and the model code.
States when the car was built. This is the date every import rule is measured from.
Limits and gaps
MLIT cannot be searched by chassis number; you search by model and read the ranges yourself. Manufacturers' own tools take a chassis number but return only a yes or no, not the production window - you need both. A model with no recalls gives you nothing.
The real technique is to find every recall your chassis number falls inside and intersect the production periods. Two or three overlapping recalls can narrow an eighteen-month window to a couple of months. It is an inference, not a certificate, and no authority formally accepts it - but it is free, it is government-published, and you can show your working.
Checked against the issuer's own page issuer page · full detail
Export Certificate (yushutsu massho kari-toroku shomeisho, or yushutsu yotei todokede shomeisho)
No date of manufactureThis is the workhorse document of every JDM import, and it does NOT state a build date. Two widely-read broker guides claim it gives a date of manufacture or a build date. Both are wrong.
- issuer
- District Transport Bureau (MLIT). Kei cars: Light Motor Vehicle Inspection Organization.
- cost
- JPY 350 in revenue stamps; JPY 500 for a kei car. An English translation costs about JPY 5,000-10,000 and is not official.
- time
- Issued at the counter. Obtainable up to six months before the scheduled export date.
- you supply
- Handled by your exporter as part of deregistration.
Carries no date of manufacture. Useful for other things; useless for proving a car's age.
Limits and gaps
It records shodo toroku nengetsu - the month and year of FIRST REGISTRATION. There is no date-of-manufacture field, because the shaken-sho it is derived from has no such field either.
What it does give is a first-registration date on an official government document, and that satisfies NHTSA's second tier: a registration document showing the vehicle was registered at least 25 years ago. First registration is always at or after manufacture, so it can only ever make a car look younger than it is - which is why NHTSA accepts it, and why it cannot rescue a borderline car. Australia names the Japanese de-registration certificate explicitly as acceptable evidence. No CBP regulation requires an English translation, but every customs broker treats one as mandatory in practice.
Checked against the issuer's own page issuer page · full detail
No formal build-date service
No date of manufactureFor these six manufacturers there is no route. Ask your dealer anyway, but plan as though the answer is no - because it is.
- issuer
- -
- cost
- -
- time
- -
- you supply
- -
Carries no date of manufacture. Useful for other things; useless for proving a car's age.
Limits and gaps
Toyota's public grade search takes a chassis number for 1999-on cars and returns the grade, not a date, and disclaims all liability. Toyota GR Heritage is parts reproduction. Honda Heritage Works launches in April 2026 for the first-generation NSX and says nothing about chassis lookups or certificates. Suzuki has refused such a request on the record.
One exception worth trying: a Mazda dealer employee has publicly stated that dealer systems hold build data for all Mazda vehicles up to around 2004 and offered to look them up. That is one person's informal offer, not a Mazda programme, but it establishes that the data exists inside the dealer network. It costs nothing to ask.
Checked against the issuer's own page issuer page · full detail
Toroku jiko-to shomeisho (Certificate of Registered Matters), detailed version
No date of manufactureAn official MLIT statement of the first registration date and the full registration history from new, independent of the export certificate. The cheapest insurance in the whole process, and almost nobody buys it.
- issuer
- District Transport Bureau (MLIT)
- cost
- JPY 1,200
- time
- Same day, at the counter
- you supply
- The plate number, the last seven digits of the chassis number, and identity documents. Have your exporter or a gyoseishoshi do it.
Carries no date of manufacture. Useful for other things; useless for proving a car's age.
Limits and gaps
Like every Japanese vehicle document, it carries first registration, not manufacture.
Order it before your exporter deregisters the car. If a US entry officer questions the export certificate, a second government document saying the same thing settles it for JPY 1,200.
Partly confirmed - read the caveats issuer page · full detail
Japanese auction sheet (USS, TAA, JAA, JU, CAA)
No date of manufactureProves nothing about age. A private trading document, trivially forged, accepted by no import authority anywhere.
- issuer
- The auction house
- cost
- Supplied with the lot
- time
- -
- you supply
- -
Carries no date of manufacture. Useful for other things; useless for proving a car's age.
Limits and gaps
The year field is the first registration date in Japan. The auction house transcribes the sheet from the shaken-sho, which has no build date - so the sheet cannot contain one.
At least one popular guide claims the sheet shows the actual production month and year. It does not. Use the sheet for condition and history - that is what it is for and it is very good at it.
Checked against the issuer's own page issuer page · full detail
JEVIC / JAAI / QISJ pre-export inspection certificate
No date of manufactureProves nothing about age. Not accepted as age evidence by the United States, Canada or Australia.
- issuer
- JEVIC and other appointed inspection bodies
- cost
- Varies by destination
- time
- Days
- you supply
- -
Carries no date of manufacture. Useful for other things; useless for proving a car's age.
Limits and gaps
JEVIC's appointments from NZTA, MPI, DAFF, MAFF, USDA and CFIA are for roadworthiness, odometer verification and biosecurity - not age.
Necessary for New Zealand and Australian quarantine. Irrelevant to the 25-year clock.
Checked against the issuer's own page issuer page · full detail
Honda vehicles in the catalogue
Honda Acty Truck
March 1990 – April 1999
Honda Beat
May 1991 – 1996
Honda Civic Type R
August 1997 – September 2001
Honda Integra Type R
October 1995 – June 2001
Honda NSX
September 1990 – December 2005
Honda S2000
April 1999 – November 2005
The Build Date Proof Pack
This page tells you which document to order. The pack gets it ordered — and tells you what to do when the answer is that no document exists.
- A ready-to-send request for every archive, in the language it wants
- Exactly which numbers to photograph, and where they are on the car
- What to ask the seller for before you pay the deposit
- The fallback ladder when the manufacturer has no records
- What US, Canadian and Australian officials each accept as proof